Bendre scores upset win to storm into quarters

Sports Reporter
Thursday, 7 March 2019

Anvit Bendre defeats fourth seed Delhi player Jatin Dahiya 6-4, 7-6 (9-7)

Pune: Lucky Loser Anvit Bendre of Pune on Wednesday scored the biggest upset of the day as he shut out fourth seeded Jatin Dahiya of Delhi 6-4, 7-6 (9-7) to make it to the singles quarterfinals in the Poona Club Trophy Rs 3 Lakh AITA Men’s and Women’s Open tennis championship being played at the Poona Club, Ladies Club and the Royal Connaught Boat Club courts.

In the other last 16 matches top seeded Suraj Prabodh of Karnataka outplayed  Tarun Chailkalapudi of Telangana 6-2, 6-3; fifth seeded Anuraj Nenwani of Delhi was made to work hard by local lad Atharva Sharma before winning  7-6 (7-3), 7-6 (9-7); third seeded Dhruv Sunish was given a second set fright, but recovered in time to get past Nikit Reddy of Andhra Pradesh 6-2, 7-6 (7-2), while second seeded Kunal Anand of Delhi made short work of Tamil Nadu’s Fahad Mohammed 6-2, 6-4.

Suresh Dakshineswar of Tamil Nadu, along with state players Shahbaaz Khan and Sahil Gaware were the other players to make it to the last eight stage. 

Men: Pre-Quarterfinals: 1-Suraj Prabodh (Kar) bt Tarun Chailkalapudi (Tel) 6-2, 6-3; Suresh Dakshineshwar (TN) bt Yash Yadav (MP) 6-2, 6-3; q-Anvit Bendre (Mah) bt 4-Jatin Dahiya (Del) 6-4, 7-6 (9-7); Shahbaaz Khan (Mah) bt Shashank Theertha Macherla (Tel) 6-2, 7-6 (10-8); 5-Anuraj Nenwani (Del) bt Atharva Sharma (Mah) 7-6 (7-3), 7-6 (9-7); 3-Dhruv Sunish (Mah) bt Nikit Reddy (AP) 6-2, 7-6 (7-2); Sahil Gaware (Mah) bt q-Arpit Sharma (Raj) 2-2 conceded; 2-Kunal Anand (Del) bt Fahad Mohammed (TN) 6-2, 6-4.
Doubles (Quarterfinals): Shashank Theertha Macherla (Tel) and Gunjan Jadhav (Mah) bt 1-Tarun Chailkalapudi (Tel) and Fahad Mohammed (TN) 6-2, 6-3; 3-Anvit Bendre (Mah) and Rohan Bhatia bt Kunal Vazirani (Mah) and Anurag Nenwani (Del) 6-2, 6-1; 4-Armaan Bhatia (Mah) and Ishaque Eqbal (Ben) bt Ominder Baisoya and Jagmeet Singh 6-4, 7-6 (7-5); 2-Parikshit Somani and Suresh Dakshineshwar bt Atharva Sharma and Vaidik Munshaw 6-2, 7-5.
Girls: Doubles (Quarterfinals): Humera Shaikh and Sara Yadav bt Avika Sagwal and Soha Sadiq 6-4, 6-0; Sai Revanur and Arthi Muniyan bt Sonashe Bhatnagar and Ishwari Matere 6-3, 6-0; Anusha Kondavati and Sai Dedeepya bt Hrudaya Shah and Shilpi Das 6-1, 4-6, 11-0; Sravya Chilakalapudi and Vaidehi Chaudhari bt Dakhata Patel and B Moulika Ram 6-3, 7-5.

Related News